Guide

What music for a dental office costs

List prices from nine business music services, read on their own pages on October 10, 2026, with the unit each price counts and three worked examples.

Last reviewed October 11, 2026.

On October 10, 2026, nine business music services, eleMusic among them, listed entry prices from $10.99 to $41 a month on monthly billing, before tax, hardware and add-ons. The prices count different things: some services charge per zone, some per location and some per device, so the unit decides what a practice with several rooms pays. The three worked examples below show an office with one device feeding several rooms, an office with five devices and a group of five offices. Prices change, so check each vendor's own page on the day you decide.

This guide is general information about US law and business music services. It is not legal advice, and reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. For advice about your practice, talk to a lawyer.

eleMusic wrote this guide, and eleMusic is one of the services in it. eleMusic is not affiliated with any company named here, and their names and trademarks belong to their owners. We read each vendor's own pricing page on October 10, 2026, kept the exact wording, and list every page under Sources. We read every page again on October 11, 2026 and found the same prices, so Sources shows that later date. Prices are list prices in US dollars before tax, hardware and add-ons unless a row says otherwise. We quote what each vendor's page says and draw no conclusions about what a service includes beyond its own words. Personal streaming accounts are licensed for personal, non-commercial use, which is why business music services exist; our guide Can a dental office play Spotify? quotes Spotify's own terms.

Zone, location or device: what does a music service charge for?

Every price in this guide is quoted per unit, and the units are not the same. Check what a price counts before you compare it with another.

  • Zone. An area that plays its own stream of music. Soundtrack's help center: "A zone is an individual area within a location." Rockbot's pricing page: "A zone is one screen or speaker area you want to control." Pandora CloudCover's help center: "Zone = a stream of audio within a location that has one single street address".
  • Location. One business address. CloudCover's help center: "Location = the physical site/address for the Zone(s)". Custom Channels prices its plans per location and adds "Additional zones: +$15 / mo across all plans".
  • Device. One player. eleMusic counts devices playing at once. A device is one stream: a tablet feeding the ceiling speakers in several rooms counts once. Pandora for Business counts subscriptions: "A Pandora for Business subscription is required for each location, zone, or device you want to play music." SiriusXM's business customer agreement, last updated May 1, 2025, allows streaming on "one device at a time per Subscription, unless otherwise described in our offer."

So one dental office can be 1 location, 1 zone and 1 device, when a single tablet feeds every ceiling speaker, or 1 location, 5 zones and 5 devices, when each room plays its own station. A per-zone price and a per-device price may describe the same setup or two different ones. Describe your rooms to each vendor and ask how many units it would bill. Our guide Dental office music setup covers devices, speakers and rooms.

What do business music services charge in 2026?

These are the list prices each vendor's own pricing page showed on October 10, 2026, for its entry music plan unless the row names another plan. Where a page has a switch between monthly and annual billing, we read both settings.

Business music list prices as published on October 10, 2026, in US dollars, before tax, hardware and add-ons
Service and planBilled monthlyBilled yearly or on a termWhat the price counts
eleMusic: Solo, Practice, Clinic$15, $24 or $49 a month; extra devices $4 a month each$12.50, $20 or about $40.83 a month, billed yearly in advance at $150, $240 or $490; extra devices about $3.33 a month each, billed yearly at $40Per location, by devices playing at once: 1 device, up to 5 devices or up to 15 devices
Soundtrack: EssentialUSD 41 a zone a monthUSD 37 a zone a month, billed annually at USD 444Per zone
Rockbot: Music$30 a zone a month, "Pricing based on monthly term"$25 a zone a month, "Pricing based on 12-month term"Per zone; "Hardware billed separately if applicable"
Pandora CloudCover: Music and ManageMusic $18.95, Manage $23.95 a location a month; added zones on Manage $12.95 a month eachMusic $16.95, Manage $21.50 a location a month, prepaid annuallyPer location; extra zones are added on the Manage and Messaging plans
Pandora for Business (pandora.moodmedia.com)$29.95 a month$23.96 a month on a yearly plan, shown under a "Limited Time: 20% off" offerPer subscription, one "for each location, zone, or device"
SiriusXM Music for Business"Starting at $26.95/mo."Not listed on the pagePer subscription: its business page states no unit, and its customer agreement allows streaming on "one device at a time per Subscription, unless otherwise described in our offer."
Custom Channels: Core$28 a location a month$25 a location a month on its Annual setting ("Save 10%")Per location; additional zones $15 a month each
SoundMachine: Business$29.95 a license a month$26.95 a license a month, billed annuallyPer license, with "a new license for each new location"; added zones cost extra, price not listed
Myndstream: healthcare plansStarter $10.99 (1 zone), Single Zone $26.99 (1 zone), Multi Zone $49.99 (up to 3 zones), Unlimited Zone $79.99$8.33, $20.83, $37.50 and $62.50 a month, billed yearly at $100, $250, $450 and $750Per plan, by number of zones

Notes on reading the table. Pandora CloudCover's help center says "Within each location, you start with one zone", and an article dated February 3, 2026 prices each additional zone at "$12.95/mo ($11.66/mo on an Annual plan)". Pandora's own page for the same product, pandora.com/business, listed added zones at $13 a month on the same day. Pandora CloudCover (cloudcovermusic.com and pandora.com/business) and Pandora for Business (pandora.moodmedia.com) are listed on different sites, under different names and at different prices. SiriusXM's business page gives a starting price and no unit, so the unit in the table comes from its business customer agreement. Soundtrack's pricing page says its prices differ by country; the figures above are the US dollar prices it showed. Rockbot, Custom Channels, Myndstream, Soundtrack, SoundMachine and Pandora for Business show one billing setting first and the other only after a switch is flipped, so we read both settings, in a browser or in the page's own data. On those pages, flip the switch to see the other price.

Do the trials and the licensing wording differ?

Yes, in length, in whether a card is needed to start, and in how each vendor describes public performance licensing. Here is each vendor's own wording, quoted and not interpreted.

Trial terms and licensing wording from each vendor's own pages, as read on October 10, 2026
ServiceTrial, as its pages describe itWhat its page says about public performance licensing
eleMusic14-day trial. Card required, nothing due at checkout. Cancel before it ends and nothing is charged; otherwise the card is charged the plan price when it ends.eleMusic does not register its generated catalog with ASCAP, BMI, SESAC or GMR. Its plans include no license from any of them: its Terms say eleMusic "does not license the Content through any PRO" (Section 11.1).
Soundtrack14 days. Its US licensing page says: "No payment or commitment required.""ASCAP, BMI, and GMR licenses included. No additional licenses required, some exceptions may apply."
Rockbot7 days, self-serve, for Rockbot Music"When you use Rockbot Music in the U.S., we cover all your licensing requirements with ASCAP, BMI, SESAC, and GMR."
Pandora CloudCover14 days; its FAQ says "We don’t even ask you for a credit card""When you subscribe to Pandora CloudCover, the cost includes public performance licensing coverage through the major PROs in the United States and Canada for covered background music uses."
Pandora for BusinessNot stated on the pages we read"When you use Pandora for Business, you get necessary public performance licenses from organizations like ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC."
SiriusXM Music for Business30 days for streaming, per its offer details"It includes the required payments of public performance royalties to rights organizations such as ASCAP, BMI, SESAC, GMR, and SoundExchange, which represent the music copyright holders."
Custom ChannelsOffered ("Try for free"); its page says a credit card is not required; length not stated"U.S. businesses are covered for ASCAP, BMI, SESAC and GMR."
SoundMachine14 days; its page says a credit card is not needed"If your business is based in the USA, or Canada, you will not need any additional license to use our service for background music."
Myndstream14 days on the plans marked "Try for free" (Starter shows "Subscribe")"performance rights are only bundled for US-based businesses"

We quote these lines and stop there. What a service's licensing reaches depends on its full terms, and some vendors say on the pages we read that it applies to music played through their own service. Rockbot's licensing page says its licensing "also does not cover any other non-Rockbot music sources such as radios, televisions, or personal devices." CloudCover's licensing article lists "Music played from sources other than the Pandora CloudCover platform" among uses that, in its words, "fall outside, or may fall outside, the scope of Pandora CloudCover's background music licensing and may require separate licensing." Whether your practice needs a license, and from whom, is a question for your attorney. Our guide Do dental offices need a music license? explains the law in the statute's own words.

On eleMusic's own row: every location with an active plan or trial gets an Original Catalog Certificate in its name, and the note below sets out what that certificate does not do. What the certificate covers, and what it does not.

eleMusic is PRO-free: it never registers its tracks with ASCAP, BMI, SESAC or GMR, so there is no performing rights fee for the music you play through eleMusic. Radio, TV, music on hold and any other music you play still need their own licenses. We cannot control or verify what others register, and we do not promise that no PRO or other person will contact you or make a claim. The certificate describes our catalog and your subscription; it does not determine your practice's legal obligations. The certificate is not a license from any performing rights organization and is not legal advice.

ASCAP, BMI, SESAC and GMR are trademarks of their respective owners. eleMusic is not affiliated with or endorsed by any performing rights organization.

What does an office with one device feeding several rooms pay?

Example 1: one tablet at the front desk is connected to an amplifier that feeds the ceiling speakers in the waiting room and three treatment rooms, and every room hears the same music. In units, that is 1 location, 1 stream of music and 1 device.

Example 1: 1 location, 1 stream, 1 device. List prices as published on October 10, 2026
Service and planHow its page counts this setupBilled monthlyBilled yearly or on a term
eleMusic Solo1 device$15 a month$12.50 a month, billed yearly at $150
Soundtrack Essential1 zone: "your location needs at least one zone"USD 41 a monthUSD 37 a month, billed annually at USD 444
Rockbot Music1 zone: "a bar and dining room sharing one system count as a single zone"$30 a month$25 a month on a 12-month term
Pandora CloudCover Music1 location$18.95 a month$16.95 a month, prepaid annually
Pandora for Business1 subscription: "If you want to play the same music throughout your business you need 1 subscription."$29.95 a month$23.96 a month under the yearly offer
SiriusXM Music for Business1 subscription: its customer agreement allows streaming on "one device at a time per Subscription"From $26.95 a monthNot listed
Custom Channels Core1 location$28 a month$25 a month on its Annual setting
SoundMachine Business1 license$29.95 a month$26.95 a month, billed annually
Myndstream Starter1 zone: "Single user access in 1 zone"$10.99 a month$8.33 a month, billed yearly at $100

Whether several rooms on one stream count as one unit is each vendor's call. Rockbot says so in plain words for a shared system, and Pandora for Business says so for the same music throughout; for the rest, describe the setup and ask. Hardware can add to this: Rockbot bills hardware "separately if applicable". Pandora for Business lists "a one time fee of $99.00 (per player)" for its media player; on October 11, 2026 its page offered the player free with a yearly plan and "50% Off on music player with a monthly plan". If you use your own phone or tablet instead, its page says "you will need a subscription for each phone and/or tablet you will use to play music." eleMusic plays on a tablet or laptop connected to your speakers, or cast to your TV.

What does an office with five devices pay?

Example 2: a waiting room and four treatment rooms each have their own tablet or laptop and play their own station. In units, that is 1 location, 5 streams of music (5 zones) and 5 devices. The totals below are our arithmetic from each vendor's published list prices.

Example 2: 1 location, 5 zones, 5 devices. Totals from list prices published on October 10, 2026
Service and planHow we added it upBilled monthlyBilled yearly or on a term
eleMusic Practice1 plan for up to 5 devices$24 a month$20 a month, billed yearly at $240
Soundtrack Essential5 zones at USD 41, or at USD 37 billed annuallyUSD 205 a monthUSD 185 a month, billed annually at USD 2,220
Rockbot Music5 zones at $30, or at $25 on a 12-month term$150 a month$125 a month on a 12-month term
Pandora CloudCover Manage1 location, which starts with one zone, plus 4 added zones$23.95 plus 4 zones at $12.95: $75.75 a month$21.50 plus 4 zones at $11.66 (the annual zone price in its February 3, 2026 article): $68.14 a month
Pandora for Business5 subscriptions, one for each area with different music5 at $29.95: $149.75 a month5 at $23.96: $119.80 a month under the yearly offer
SiriusXM Music for Business5 subscriptions at the $26.95 starting price (our multiplication, not a SiriusXM figure)$134.75 a monthNot listed
Custom Channels Core1 location plus 4 additional zones at $15$28 plus $60: $88 a month$25 plus $60: $85 a month (the page does not say whether the zone price changes on the Annual setting)
Myndstream Unlimited ZoneMulti Zone covers "up to 3 zones", so 5 zones needs the Unlimited Zone plan$79.99 a month$62.50 a month, billed yearly at $750
SoundMachine BusinessNot computed: each zone "incurs an additional cost", and the page lists no zone priceNot computedNot computed

These totals leave out tax, hardware, add-ons, setup and any discount a vendor quotes you directly. The SiriusXM total multiplies its "Starting at" price by five: SiriusXM does not publish that figure, its offer details add "Fees and taxes apply", and its agreement allows for offers that count devices differently and for resellers with their own terms. The units are not identical either: a zone at one service and a device at eleMusic are counted differently, as the first section explains. If your rooms share one stream, Example 1 is closer to your office; if each room plays its own music, Example 2 is.

What does a group of five offices pay?

Example 3: a group has five offices at five addresses. Each office is set up like Example 2, with a waiting room and four treatment rooms that each play their own station. In units, that is 5 locations, 25 streams of music (25 zones) and 25 devices. The totals below are our arithmetic from each vendor's published list prices.

Example 3: 5 locations, 5 zones and 5 devices at each (25 zones in all). Totals are our arithmetic from list prices published on October 10, 2026
Service and planHow we added it upBilled monthlyBilled yearly or on a term
eleMusic Practice5 Practice plans, one for each location, less the published 15% for five or more locations5 at $24 is $120; less 15%: $102 a month5 at $240 is $1,200; less 15%: $1,020 a year, or $85 a month
Soundtrack Essential25 zones at USD 41, or at USD 37 billed annuallyUSD 1,025 a monthUSD 925 a month, billed annually at USD 11,100
Rockbot Music25 zones at $30, or at $25 on a 12-month term$750 a month$625 a month on a 12-month term
Pandora CloudCover Manage5 locations, each with its first zone and 4 added zones, as in Example 25 at $75.75: $378.75 a month5 at $68.14: $340.70 a month, prepaid annually
Pandora for Business25 subscriptions: one for each area with different music, as in Example 2, at each of 5 locations. Its page on multiple locations says "Each business location will have its own unique subscription to Pandora for Business."25 at $29.95: $748.75 a month25 at $23.96: $599.00 a month under the yearly offer
Custom Channels Core5 locations, each with 4 additional zones at $15, as in Example 25 at $88: $440 a month5 at $85: $425 a month on its Annual setting
SiriusXM Music for BusinessNot computed: its business page gives one "Starting at" price and no unit, and its franchise section lists "competitive national account pricing"Not computedNot computed
MyndstreamNot computed: its page does not say whether one plan covers more than one locationNot computedNot computed
SoundMachine BusinessNot computed: its page says "You will need a new license for each new location" and lists no price for added zonesNot computedNot computed

eleMusic's row includes its published discount for five or more locations, which applies when the locations are set up under the same sign-in; eleMusic pricing explains how it works. The other rows are list prices multiplied out, before any volume price a vendor quotes you directly. Custom Channels lists volume pricing for 10 or more locations. CloudCover's pricing FAQ says a business with multiple locations "may be eligible for a price break on your service" and asks it to contact sales for a quote, and its pricing page invites a call above 10 locations. Rockbot's pricing page lists "Enterprise Solutions" with "pricing built for your network’s scale", and Soundtrack's says "Ask about our Enterprise offering." As in Example 2, the totals leave out tax, hardware, add-ons and setup, and a zone and a device are different units, as the first section explains.

What else changes the total?

  • Billing term. Annual billing lowers the monthly figure at most services in the table. Rockbot ties its lower rate to a term: "you can choose monthly for flexibility, or annual for a lower rate with a 12-month term." CloudCover's annual prices are "prepaid annually".
  • Hardware. Some services sell their own players or bill hardware apart from the music. Ask whether the price you are quoted includes one, and whether it is a one-time or a monthly cost.
  • Add-ons. Some services charge for features beyond the music plan. Rockbot, for example, lists Audio Messaging at $10 a month on top of Rockbot Music.
  • Promotions. Pandora for Business showed "Limited Time: 20% off + Free Music Player On Yearly Plans" on October 10, 2026. Offers like this end, and the price after them is the one to budget for.
  • Several locations. Custom Channels lists "Volume pricing available for 10+ locations"; CloudCover asks "More than 10 locations?" before inviting a call, and its pricing FAQ says a business with multiple locations "may be eligible for a price break on your service." For eleMusic: Five or more locations take 15% off every location. Example 3 above works through a group of five offices.
  • Tax. The figures above are the prices each page lists. None of the vendor pages we read says its price includes sales tax, and SiriusXM's offer details say "Fees and taxes apply." Ask each vendor what tax it adds. For eleMusic: Prices in US dollars, plus applicable sales tax.

Where does eleMusic fit?

eleMusic is the service writing this page, so here is what it is and what it is not. Original instrumental music, generated and mastered by eleMusic. How the music is made explains the process. No vocals, no ads, no commercial recordings. If your practice wants hit songs by artists patients know, eleMusic does not offer them. Plans are priced per location by how many devices play at once: Solo covers 1 device for $15 a month, Practice covers up to 5 devices for $24 a month, and Clinic covers up to 15 devices for $49 a month. Extra devices are $4 a month each on any plan. Annual plans cost ten times the monthly price, so two months are free. For business locations in the US.

Two differences matter when you set eleMusic next to the table. The trial: New locations start with a 14-day trial. A card is required and nothing is due at checkout. A reminder goes to the billing email before the trial ends, and you can cancel in Manage billing or by emailing hello@elemusic.fm. Unless you cancel before the trial ends, the card is charged the plan price when it ends. Licensing: eleMusic does not register its generated catalog with ASCAP, BMI, SESAC or GMR. An eleMusic plan includes no license from any performing rights organization. We cannot control or verify what others register, and we do not promise that no PRO or other person will contact you or make a claim. You are responsible for licensing any other music or audio you play. Ask your own lawyer if you are unsure. An eleMusic plan is for playback inside your practice through the eleMusic player only, and Section 9.2 of our Terms of Service excludes uses such as music on hold and video. Read Section 9, or see eleMusic pricing for the plans in full.

What should we ask a music service before signing up?

  • What does your price count: a zone, a location, a device, a license or a user? How many of those would our rooms need?
  • Does the location price include the first zone, and what does each added zone cost on monthly and on annual billing?
  • Is the lower rate tied to a 12-month term or paid in advance, and what happens if we cancel partway through?
  • Do we need your hardware, and does it cost once or every month?
  • How long is the trial, does it need a card, and what is charged when it ends?
  • Which public performance licenses does your page say are included, for which uses, and what documentation do we receive? Our guide Do dental offices need a music license? lists questions for your attorney.

Our comparison of dental office music services sets these services and others side by side on more than price, with dated sources.

Sources

  1. Soundtrack: Plans and pricing (US dollar prices), accessed October 11, 2026
  2. Soundtrack Helpcenter: What is a zone?, accessed October 11, 2026
  3. Soundtrack: Music licensing in the United States, accessed October 11, 2026
  4. Rockbot: Pricing plans and bundles, accessed October 11, 2026
  5. Rockbot: Music licensing for business, accessed October 11, 2026
  6. Pandora CloudCover: Pricing, accessed October 11, 2026
  7. Pandora CloudCover Support Center: Zones, music for every area of your business (February 3, 2026), accessed October 11, 2026
  8. Pandora CloudCover Support Center: Understanding Locations and Zones (January 2024), accessed October 11, 2026
  9. Pandora CloudCover Support Center: Does Pandora CloudCover cover my music licensing? (August 11, 2026), accessed October 11, 2026
  10. Pandora: Pandora CloudCover, Music for Business, accessed October 11, 2026
  11. Pandora for Business: Subscription page, accessed October 11, 2026
  12. Pandora for Business: Multiple locations, accessed October 11, 2026
  13. Pandora for Business: Home page, licensing section, accessed October 11, 2026
  14. SiriusXM: Music for Business, accessed October 11, 2026
  15. SiriusXM: Customer Agreement for Music for Business Services (last updated May 1, 2025), accessed October 11, 2026
  16. Custom Channels: Business music service pricing, accessed October 11, 2026
  17. SoundMachine: Pricing, accessed October 11, 2026
  18. Myndstream: Healthcare pricing, accessed October 11, 2026
  19. eleMusic Terms of Service, Section 9 (version 2026-10-11), accessed October 11, 2026
  20. eleMusic Terms of Service, Section 11.1 (version 2026-10-11), accessed October 11, 2026
  21. eleMusic Terms of Service, Section 14.4 (version 2026-10-11), accessed October 11, 2026
  22. eleMusic Terms of Service, Section 14.8 (version 2026-10-11), accessed October 11, 2026
  23. eleMusic Refund and Cancellation Policy, Section 3: Free trials, accessed October 11, 2026

Hear it in your own rooms.

Eight instrumental stations and one access code, on a tablet or laptop in each room, or cast to your TV. From $15 a month for one device; Practice covers up to 5 devices for $24.

New locations start with a 14-day trial. A card is required and nothing is due at checkout. A reminder goes to the billing email before the trial ends, and you can cancel in Manage billing or by emailing hello@elemusic.fm. Unless you cancel before the trial ends, the card is charged the plan price when it ends. See the Terms of Service and the Refund and Cancellation Policy.